State Capitol Buildings for $1,000!

Most of these structures are amazingly similar save for these few standouts

Arthur Keith
5 min readJan 6, 2021
Illinois State Capitol, Springfield. Photo: Author.

While I might think I’m cool, deep inside, I’m a big geek. There are several areas in which I geek out — aviation, reptiles, gardening, and US geography. I knew all my state capitals before the first grade. I’m pretty good at talking about the news of the day, but speak of geography and do not cross me.

It’s a lonely place.

They don’t teach geography in school anymore. Even our so-called President doesn’t know where shit is. He’s probably the most provincial President we’ve ever had. He knows New York, Florida, and Washington, D.C. (Well, he doesn’t really know Washington, but that’s another story.)

However if there were a degree in Pop Culture, I just might be writing this to you from my mansion in (pick a cool city). Pop culture sells. Geography? Not so much. But if you want to know more about Prince, for instance, you might want to know that he’s from Minneapolis, which is the largest city in? (Blank stares.) I’ve given you the first two syllables!

I wanna be on Jeopardy!

But on Alex Trebek’s Jeopardy. What a loss.

Let’s get back to state capitals, and state capitols. Most of the latter are modeled after…

--

--

Arthur Keith

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.